Experimental Nuclear Magnetic Resonance Conference


Follow us. Mention @ENC_Conf in your social media communications.

Varian Young Investigator Award at ENC

We look forward to granting the award again for the 64th ENC in 2023.

To honor the physicist, inventor and entrepreneur, Euromar and ICMRBS set up, for several years, the Russell Varian Prize. A group of anonymous donors have revived this award as the Varian Young Investigator Award and it will now be presented biennially at the ENC in odd-numbered years (2019, 2021, etc.) The Award will be presented and administered via ENC in the odd-numbered years and presented and administered via Euromar in the even-numbered years (2020, 2022, etc.) The recipient will receive a prize of $5,000.

Consider Submitting a Nomination for ENC 2023

About Russell Varian

After training with Philo Farnsworth Russell Varian, in 1937, invented the Klystron, a novel device for the generation of microwave radiation. Being light enough to be carried in aircraft, the Klystron enabled all-weather radar and played a vital role in WW-II at the battle of Britain and the Battle of the Atlantic. In 1948, Russell and his brother, Sigurd, founded Varian Associates, a pioneering high-tech company in what became Silicon Valley. Besides being a brilliant innovator, Russell Varian was a socialist-leaning libertarian, a member of the ACLU and the Sierra Club. He died in 1959 while scouting Alaska for the setting for a new National Park.

Call for 2023 Nominations Open in Fall 2022

The Varian Young Investigator Award at ENC is intended to recognize a single investigator, for his/her achievements in any area of magnetic resonance. The award is to be granted to people in the first 12 years after their Ph.D. This is a general guideline and exceptions will be considered. The Varian Young Investigator Award will be presented at the ENC in odd-numbered years (2019, 2021, etc.)  Nomination deadline is January 15, 2023.

How to Nominate + Process:

The deadline for nominations will be January 15 of the award year; self-nominations will not be accepted, but nominations by the selection committee (SC) members are welcomed. No previous winner of a Varian themed award will be considered.

Nominations to include the following elements:

  • Name of nominee, with nominee's affiliation, phone, and e-mail
  • CV of the nominee
  • Name of nominator, address, phone, and e-mail
  • A brief (no more than 200 words) description of the work that forms the basis of the nomination
  • A list of up to five relevant publications.

Submit nominations by January 15, 2023 by email to enc@enc-conference.org.

Decisions of the SC will be by a majority of those voting, with the Chair having a casting vote in the event of a tie. 

Past Recipients of the Varian Young Investigator Award at ENC

2019, Awarded at the 60th ENC, Asilomar Conference Center

Alexander Barnes, ETH Zurich

Thank you ENC Major Sponsors


© ENC 2021

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software